The Great New Zealand Trivia Blog for International Students

Thursday, May 21, 2020

We are going to help you ace your next test on New Zealand with this blog that answers fifteen key questions about New Zealand that are often found in quizzes.

What is NZ’s longest river?

Answer = The Waikato River is the longest river in New Zealand, running for 425km from Lake Taupo’s north-eastern edge, creating the Huka falls and flowing north-west through the Waikato plains and Hamilton, then flowing into the Tasman Sea at Port Waikato, South Auckland.

What is the biggest lake in NZ?

Answer = Lake Taupo is the largest lake by surface area in New Zealand (at 616 square kilometres it is roughly the same size as Singapore!). It has a perimeter of 193km and a maximum depth of 186m. The lake was created by a volcanic eruption that occurred over 26,500 years ago.

What are the Māori and English names of the highest mountain in NZ?

Answer = Aoraki/Mount Cook is the highest mountain in New Zealand and 39th tallest mountain in the world. It has a height of 3,274m (12,218ft). Its Māori name means ‘cloud piercer’ and it takes its English name from Captain James Cook, the British explorer, who sailed aboard the HMS Endeavour around the New Zealand coast in 1768-1771 and the HMS Adventure in 1772-1774.

Which New Zealand city has the highest population?

Answer = Auckland/Tāmaki Makaurau is New Zealand’s most populated city with over 1.5 million people, it has a larger population than the whole South Island.  The area has 53 dormant volcanoes and was named after George Eden, Earl of Auckland. It is one of the few cities in the world to have a harbour on each of two separate major bodies of water (it lies between Manukau Harbour – Tasman Sea and Waitematā Harbour on the Pacific Ocean.

What is the capital city of New Zealand?

Answer = Wellington/Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Pōneke/Te Upoko-o-te-Ika-a-Māui is New Zealand’s capital, having been named the permanent capital in 1865 when Parliament was moved from Auckland to Wellington. Before Wellington the country had two capitals, Old Russell/Okiato (1840-1841) and Auckland (1841-1865). It takes its name from Arthur Wellesley, the first Duke of Wellington and winner of the Battle of Waterloo – his title comes from the town of Wellington in the English county of Somerset. The Maori translations are: "the great harbour of Tara”, “Port Nick” and “The Head of the Fish of Māui” respectively.

What is the name of the main dividing mountain range in the South Island?

Answer = The Southern Alps/Kā Tiritiri o te Moana extends along a large part of the South Island, running approximately 500km north-east to south-west. Aoraki/Mount Cook is part of the Southern Alps, and there are sixteen other points along the range that exceed 3000m (9,800ft in height).

New Zealand's international rugby team is called what?

Answer = The NZ rugby team is known worldwide as the All Blacks, named for their famous all black jersey. They have played international rugby since 1884. They have won three World Cups and hold one of the best win percentages in sports history.

Name the sea that lies between Australia and New Zealand?

Answer = The Tasman Sea was named after Dutch explorer Abel Janszoon Tasman, who was the first recorded European to encounter NZ and Tasmania. Located off the West Coast of New Zealand and off of Australia’s East Coast. The sea is referred to as ‘the ditch’ by Australian’s and New Zealander’s.

Whose head will you find on all New Zealand coins?

Answer = Queen Elizabeth II has had her head displayed on NZ coins since her coronation in 1953. Over the years her head has changed with her age and she has now been seen on NZ currency for 67 years.

How many stars does the New Zealand flag have?

Answer = The New Zealand flag has four red stars. This is not to be confused with Australia’s six white stars!

What are the three official languages of New Zealand?

Answer = Te Reo Māori, English and New Zealand sign language are the three official languages of New Zealand.

Aotearoa (New Zealand) means what in Māori?

Answer = Land of the long white cloud. Originally used to reference just the North Island, it has been adapted since the 1900’s to encompass the whole country. New Zealand’s national anthem is also known as Aotearoa/God Defend New Zealand and has both English and Māori verses.

What animal is known as the national symbol of New Zealand?

Answer = The Kiwi bird has been New Zealand’s national symbol since the early 20th century being used an emblem for everything from stamps, badges, seeds, drugs, shoe polish and bank notes.

Which New Zealand film maker and screenwriter won an Oscar for Best Director in 2004?

Answer = Sir Peter Jackson, director of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The Return of the King won a record eleven Oscars, including Jackson’s Best Director award that year. The film won all the eleven awards it was nominated for.

In 1893, New Zealand became the first country to do what political first?

Answer = Give women the right to vote. Suffrage campaigners, led Kate Sheppard, helped ensure that women were given the right to vote in parliamentary elections.

Who are iStudent Complaints and what can we help you with?
iStudent Complaints is an independent dispute resolution scheme established by the New Zealand Government. Our objective is to encourage swift settlement of contractual and financial disputes between international students and their providers in New Zealand. As an independent and impartial service, we are not affiliated with any Education providers.

Why did we do this blog?
Even if we need to step in one day to help you resolve a dispute, we want you to enjoy studying and living in our amazing country as much as we do. To that end, we’ve created this content so that you may continue to explore and experience the best New Zealand can offer.